Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

“Wine and Words” Author Carol Van Den Hende in Conversation with Main Street Reads (Virtual Event)

September 9, 2020 @ 9:00 pm - 10:00 pm

So here’s an uber-cool event! Author and friend of Main Street Reads’ Carol Van Den Hende’s new book releases on October 1st and as an early winner of the American Fiction award, Goodbye Orchid is already predicted to be a bestseller. So, on Wednesday, September 9th we’re going to pour a glass of wine and toast this important work LIVE on Zoom (simulcast on Facebook Live) with Carol, in conversation with fellow author and screenwriter Meredith Stack, whose current project is Cannes Film Fest bound! Scroll down for login link and password…

Rising from ashes is hard. Giving up the one you love is harder.

Thirty-two-year-old Phoenix Walker is an entrepreneur who has built an agency with a heart almost as big as his own. To add to his good fortune, he’s falling for Orchid Paige, the beautiful half-Asian marketer who’s collaborated with him on a winning military campaign. They’ve grown close after months working and traveling together. She’s even divulged the trauma in her past that makes her panic over images of injured vets. He’s trying not to cross their professional boundary. Their relationship is at a precipice. Until an accident changes him forever.

Now, he’s faced with the hardest decision of his life: Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean leaving her without explaining why?

For fans of ME BEFORE YOU and THE FAULT IN OUR STARSGOODBYE, ORCHID asks…what choice does a wounded hero have when loving his woman means breaking his own heart?

Carol Van Den Hende is an author and American Fiction Award winner who pens stories of resilience and hope. She’s also a speaker, strategist, and serves on nonprofit boards. One secret to her good fortune? Her humorous husband, fun-loving twins, and rescue cat, who prove that love really does conquer all. NOTE: This debut novel by Carol Van Den Hende is inspired by and researched with combat-wounded veterans. A portion of the earnings benefits military personnel and other non-profits.

Here are the Zoom link and password details:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81155277763?pwd=ME9SR3hudzdCQ29zM241MFdHVHJXUT09
Meeting ID: 811 5527 7763
Passcode: 518149

Bring the wine, we’ll bring the party!

Details

Date:
September 9, 2020
Time:
9:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , , ,
Event Tags:
, , , ,

Organizer

Main Street Reads
Email:
shari@writerswin.com

Venue

Main Street Reads
115 S. Main St.
Summerville, SC 29483 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
843-875-5171
View Venue Website
Copyright © 2023 Main Street Reads — Activation WordPress theme by GoDaddy