Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Pulpwood Queens Bookclub for May: Goodbye Orchid by Carol van den Hende

May 26, 2022 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

A wonderful pick this month from a wonderful author, Goodbye Orchid has garnered international attention as a book club read. All are welcome and treats will be served at our book club shindig the fourth Thursday of May!

Winner of the American Fiction Award and Pinnacle Achievement Award. Can love blossom after life changes in an instant?

One July morning in Manhattan, handsome athlete and entrepreneur Phoenix Walker accompanies his love, half-Asian beauty Orchid, to the airport. Neither believes today is goodbye.

But after she leaves, disaster strikes. Phoenix wakes in the hospital, broken, forever changed. He longs for Orchid but remembers the tragedy in her past that makes her panic over images of trauma.

Now, he’s faced with the hardest decision of his life. Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean leaving her without explaining why?

Rising from ashes is hard. Giving up the one you love is harder.

Those of you wishing to join in via Zoom can do so here:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86113409135?pwd=TVNaUHFlRElsMGdOREVUbVdvME80Zz09
Meeting ID: 861 1340 9135
Passcode: 072714

“A tale of sacrifice and rebirth; heroism is in the details.” -SSGT Aaron Michael Grant, author of TAKING BAGHDAD: Victory in Iraq With the US Marines

If you like heart-warming stories of resilience and magnanimous heroes, then you’ll love this award-winning tale that’s inspired by combat-injured veterans. For fans of Me Before You and Fault in Our Stars, Goodbye, Orchid asks…

“What choice does a wounded hero have when loving his woman means breaking his own heart?”

Order your copy of Goodbye, Orchid and immerse yourself in this beautiful love story.

Details

Date:
May 26, 2022
Time:
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, ,

Organizer

Main Street Reads
Email:
shari@writerswin.com

Venue

Main Street Reads
115 S. Main St.
Summerville, SC 29483 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
843-875-5171
View Venue Website
Copyright © 2023 Main Street Reads — Activation WordPress theme by GoDaddy